Top 10 Romantic Films

Today is Valentine’s Day and here is my top 10 romantic film list from #10 to #1

#10 )  The NoteBook (2004) 

movies-on-repeat-the-notebook-cover

“Do you think our love, can take us away together?”

Well my number 10 is one of the few Nicholas Sparks adaptations i can take apart by all the other his cliche stories. Rachel McAdams and Ryan Gosling started in this modern classic if we can call it like that about a poor man falling in love with a rich girl and all this struggle of social differences. I know You love it!

 “I am nothing special; just a common man with common thoughts, and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten. But in one respect I have succeeded as gloriously as anyone who’s ever lived: I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul; and to me, this has always been enough.” 

The-NotebookThe-Notebook-597934

2004_the_notebook_001

#9) Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961) 

91ma0Ih1wLL._SL1500_

“I’m like cat here, a no-name slob. We belong to nobody, and nobody belongs to us. We don’t even belong to each other.”

The lovely Audrey Hepburn in one of her most iconic roles. Don’t limit yourself with a film because is old , trust me you can have the same fun or maybe more than a  new film. Is a pretty good comedy and have kissing under the rain before where cool.

“Anyone who ever gave you confidence, you owe them a lot.”

tumblr_nxy13tn4EH1qetb0ho1_540

tumblr_nbt3f9j6oc1tahtf4o1_1280

#8) Annie Hall (1977)

b43784d257c055a8bbf411f7cd13b50b

 “Love is too weak a word for what I feel “

One of the best film of Woody Allen , winner of 4 Academy Awards including Best Picture and is called one of the best written comedic scripts of all time. This romantic comedy is set in New York city so possibly if you leave there maybe you can feel attached to it.

“A relationship, I think, is like a shark. You know? It has to constantly move forward or it dies. And I think what we got on our hands is a dead shark.”

AnnieHallunpop1AnnieHallunpop3

#7) Before Sunrise (1995)

before-sunrise.20172

“I believe if there’s any kind of God it wouldn’t be in any of us, not you or me but just this little space in between. If there’s any kind of magic in this world it must be in the attempt of understanding someone sharing something. I know, it’s almost impossible to succeed but who cares really? The answer must be in the attempt.”- Celine

The first film from a trilogy created by Richard Linklater. before see it I though a romance film with Ethan Hawke? Im not a big fan of him but the film works a lot. A young man and a Woman meet in a train in Europe and they spend the rest of the day together knowing that could last just one day.

“You know what’s the worst thing about somebody breaking up with you? It’s when you remember how little you thought about the people you broke up with and you realize that is how little they’re thinking of you. You know, you’d like to think you’re both in all this pain but they’re just like “Hey, I’m glad you’re gone”- Jesse 

before_sunrise

tumblr_m0e1enRW1F1r75hn5o1_1280

#6) The Theory Of Everything (2014) 

2014-11-11-movieposter

“There should be no boundaries to human endeavor. We are all different. However bad life may seem, there is always something you can do, and succeed at. While there’s life, there is hope.” – Stephen Hawking 

The love story of the brilliant genius Stephen Hawking and Jane. Eddie Redmayne just nailed it winning his First Oscar for the role. Is a touching film with great performance like the one deliver by him and Felicity Jones with pretty cinematography that will put you in the mood.

“I have loved you.”

The-Theory-of-Everything-Movie-520x245Felicity_Jones_Interview_THEORY_OF_EVERYTHING

#5) Gone With The Wind (1939) 

Gone-With-The-Wind-Poster-gone-with-the-wind-33266934-2496-3688

“Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.”

The epic winner of 8 Oscars including Best Pictures is one of the top 100 films of all time. runs 3 hours with 58 minutes of recent years of film achievement. Cinephiles you must watch! And you should watch it to have it in your visual resume because there’s no way in this life you never have heard this lines…

“As God is my witness, as God is my witness they’re not going to lick me. I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, I’ll never be hungry again. No, nor any of my folk. If I have to lie, steal, cheat or kill. As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again.”

Gone 6 HungryGoneWithTheWind-580x250

#4) CasaBlanca (1942)

11168101_ori

 “We’ll always have Paris. We didn’t have, we, we lost it until you came to Casablanca. We got it back last night.”

Casablanca is another classic whose you see reference in other films or cartoon to mention one The Simpsons.the memorable lines and the chemistry of the characters with Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman is just great and how I love that cam movement!

“Now , Now… Here’s looking at you kid.”

casablanca

tumblr_niig1ogDt91qetb0ho1_1280

 

#3) Her (2013) 

her-movie-poster

“I think anybody who falls in love is a freak. It’s a crazy thing to do. It’s kind of like a form of socially acceptable insanity.” – Amy 

One of the most original films I have seen in years. Spike Jones give us a complex and beautiful love story about a man falling in love with a operating system voiced by Scarlet Johansson. Is a must watch and you maybe have an idea where humans can go for love in a near future! maybe kind of creepy, maybe! One of my personal favorites.

“Dear Catherine, I’ve been sitting here thinking about all the things I wanted to apologize to you for. All the pain we caused each other. Everything I put on you. Everything I needed you to be or needed you to say. I’m sorry for that. I’ll always love you ’cause we grew up together and you helped make me who I am. I just wanted you to know there will be a piece of you in me always, and I’m grateful for that. Whatever someone you become, and wherever you are in the world, I’m sending you love. You’re my friend to the end. Love, Theodore.”

her-joaquin-phoenixschermafbeelding-2015-01-08-om-14-33-46

#2) Titanic (1997) 

titanic_movie-hd-1

” I’m the king of the world!”

The man behind hardcore action blockbusters like Terminator and Action horror like Aliens is the director you should called a master after deliver this epic romance drama thriller. Winner of 11 Academy Awards only 3 films in history has done that. #2 Top Grossing Film of All Time World Wide and only James Cameron himself can broke his own record later with Avatar. Leonardo DiCaprio after this film he would become a major sensation and both him and Kate Winslet are today high caliber actors. Experience this visual stunning journey and fall in love and get thrilled.

So grateful for that score composed by James Horner, He may Rest in Peace.

“I promise. “-Rose

“Never let go. ” – Jack 

“I’ll never let go, Jack. I’ll never let go.”- Jack 

tumblr_lz6iczvGWQ1r5i7tyo1_400

maxresdefault

#2) Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind (2004) 

92219418

“What a loss to spend that much time with someone, only to find out that she’s a stranger.”

Jim Carrey underrated acting and Kate Winslet are part of this great psychological love story winner of the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay by Charlie Kaufman. When you love someone so much and whatever the reason is you’re not together anymore and you would like to erase her/him from your life … this is the film. I Just Love it !

“Can you hear me? I don’t want this any more! I want to call it off!”

EternalSunshine039-580x250

“By morning, you’ll be gone.”

Eternal-Sunshine-of-the-Spotless-Mind-eternal-sunshine-4403280-1024-576

 

Tell me your Favorite Romantic film ?

Leave a Reply

