Top 10 Gangster Film

Now that I saw ” Live By Night” here’s my top 10 Gangster films.

10) Reservoir Dogs (1992)

resvdec12

Quentin Tarantino first movie about a heist without one is smart and violent. A great Start for a filmmaker like Tarantino.

“If you shoot me in your dream you better wake up and apologize” – Mr. White

bigpreview_reservoir_dogs_-_michael_madsen_harvey_keitel_758_426_81_s_c1reservoir-dogs-acting

9) Once Upon a Time in America (1984)

once_upon_a_time_in_america1

Are you surprise I have this film #9?  It’s a good movie but I get a little bit bored for all those long hours. Molte grazie a  Sergio Leone é Ennio Morricone per fare questo film.

“It’s true I have killed people, Mr. Bailey. Sometimes to defend myself, sometimes for money. And many people used to come to us. Business partners, rivals, lovers. Some of the jobs we took, and some we didn’t. Yours is one we would never touch, Mr Bailey.” – Noodles

psp6ct3jt0nw5bzgrwtqmaxresdefault

8) The Untouchables (1987)

220px-untouchablesthe

When you finished this list count in how many gangster film Robert De Niro is in. I saw this film last year and I enjoyed it more that i was expecting.

“Listen to me here! You ain’t got nothin’ on me, nothin’! You’re just a cop! Fuck you and your family!” – Al Capone

still-from-the-untouchabl-001u_201

7)  Scarface (1983)

scarface-movie-i8166

The Untouchables and Scarface are both film from Brian De Palma. Al Pacino brings to life this iconic cuban character to be one of his  greatest performances on screen.

NO! THIS SCARFACE IS NOT ORIGINAL IS AN ADAPTATION. The Original is from 1932.

” Say Hello to my little friend” – Montana 

kinopoisk.ru

4f60c61067bc0f691c7ffa238c4aec8694952900ed75bd6ce411e9ec8f118434

6) The Killing (1956)

220px-thekillingposterkubrick

Mastermind Stanley Kubrick can made any genre he wants. I want to  see this movie again because the style and the ending catch my attention.

“You like money. You’ve got a great big dollar sign there where most women have a heart.” – Johnny Clay 

the-killing-clown-clay

the-killing-006

5) Pulp Fiction (1995)

pulp-fiction-cover-with-uma-thurman-movie-poster

Again writing master Quentin Tarantino in this list with one of his greatest films. The Dialogue and the story it’s great and I find it better the more I watch it.

“Say ‘what’ again. Say ‘what’ again, I dare you, I double dare you motherfucker, say what one more Goddamn time!” – Jules

hiamxwytqgi5jcqnyzqwzxzryqvkxtw5_h264_3800_640x360_3521244838941356977613_10

4) The Departed (2006)

70044689

You have Martin Scorsese and an all star cast with Jack Nicholson, Leonardo DiCaprio and Matt Damon, in a contemporary gangster film. This film won best picture and earn an Oscar for Best Director to Marty. I love this film.

“I got this rat, this gnawing, cheese eating fuckin’ rat and it brings up questions… You know, see, Bill, like you’re the new guy. Girlfriend… Why don’t you stay in the bar that night I got your numbers. Social Security numbers. Everybody’s fuckin’ numbers.” – Costello

600full-the-departed-photodeparted-11

3) Godfather Part II (1974)

wallup.net

I like this film, but you decide if this film goes up or it’s number 3 it’s no less than that. Few sequel get nominated for Best Picture , and the first one to win that Award is the Godfather Part II.

“My father taught me many things here – he taught me in this room. He taught me: keep your friends close, but your enemies closer.”- Michael Corleone 

godfather2featuredgordon-willis-godfather-part-ii-ellis-island

2) Goodfellas (1990) 

goodfellas_keyart

I can see this film like three times a year. Martin Scorsese should have  won  an Oscar for Best Director for this picture. It’s the movie where you’re going to see the best of Ray Lliota and you are going to feel the energy of Joe Pesci , Bob De Niro and other characters thru this masterful storytelling.

“You mean, let me understand this cause, ya know maybe it’s me, I’m a little fucked up maybe, but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I’m here to fuckin’ amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?” – Tommy DeVito

30-hell

goodfellas-2

  1. The Godfather (1972)

    godfather

This Masterpiece by Francis Ford Coppola it’s a cinematic one of the best film of all time if it’s not the best. Marlon Brandon nailed it with his performance creating an iconic character. The cinematography it’s stunning … well the filmmaking in general it’s terrific. Some people says the book is not good but look at this masterwork based on that, not always the book is better than the film then.

“I’m gonna make him an offer he can’t refuse. …” – Don Vito Corleone

godfather-1

vito-is-shot

Tell me your top 10 Gangster films in the comments section.

I Invite you to Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/DailyCinemaPost

Personal @filmmakerpr

Also on on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheDailyCinemaPost/

 

 

One thought on “Top 10 Gangster Film

Leave a Reply

